Lorde announces tour, reveals release date and tracklist for new album Solar Power

Lorde made her comeback earlier this month with the release of “Solar Power” and the promise that a new album of the same name would arrive later this year. Today, she officially announced the release of Melodrama 2017: Solar Power on August 20. Find the list of songs and the cover of the already iconic album below.

Along with the details of her album, Lorde has announced a tour in 2022. She will begin in February in her native New Zealand before traveling to the United States and Canada for spring concerts. Lorde will then go to Europe and the UK for other shows. Find his schedule below.

“Solar Power” has arrived with a new music video co-directed by Lorde and his former collaborator Joel Kefali. The song was co-written and co-produced with Jack Antonoff. Phoebe Bridgers and Clairo provided backing vocals on the song. “The album is a celebration of the natural world, an attempt to immortalize the deep and transcendent feelings I experience when I’m on the outside,” Lorde wrote in a newsletter upon the single’s release.

According to a press release, as an alternative to CD release, Solar Power will be available as an “eco-friendly music box,” which will include visual content, handwritten notes, photos and a download card. “I decided very early in the process of creating this album that I also wanted to create an environmentally friendly and forward thinking alternative to the CD,” Lorde said in a statement. “I wanted this Music Box product to be similar in size, shape and price to a CD, to live next to it in a retail environment, but to be something that stands out and that engages in the evolving nature of a modern album. “

In November 2019, Lorde wrote in a fan newsletter update that she had interrupted work on a new album as she struggled with grief over the death of her dog Pearl. But in May 2020, she released another update where she said she started working on a new album in December.

Last year Lorde announced Going South, a photo book of images shot by her friend Harriet Were during their trip through Antarctica in 2019. This spring, the singer-songwriter made an appearance at the alongside Marlon Williams during a performance in Auckland to cover “Bruce Springsteen”. Harder than the rest.”

Find out where Melodrama landed on Pitchfork’s “The 200 Best Albums of the 2010s”.

All products featured on Pitchfork are independently selected by our editors. However, when you buy something through our retail links, we may earn an affiliate commission.

Lorde: the solar power tour

Solar energy:

01 the path
02 Solar energy
03 California
04 Stoned in the nail salon
05 Fallen fruit
06 Secrets of a girl (who has seen it all)
07 The man with the ax
08 Dominoes
09 Big star
10 Head of a new regime
11 Mood Ring
12 Oceanic feeling

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *