Liz Phair releases Soberish, her first new album in 11 years: Stream


Liz Phair has unveiled her long-awaited seventh studio set, Soberish, via Chrysalis Records. Stream it now on Apple Music and Spotify.

Along with the lead single “Good Side”, which was first shared in 2019, the 13-track LP also includes previously released tracks “Hey Lou”, “Spanish Doors” and “In There”. Soberish marks Phair’s first new work in eleven years. The project sees her reunite with producer Brad Wood, who worked with singer-songwriter on his 1993 debut album, Exile in Guyville, as well as on Whip-Smart in 1994 and Whitechocolatespaceegg in 1998.

“It was so great working with Brad again and finding our rhythm, if you will,” Phair recently told Kyle Meredith With… on the Consequence Podcast Network. “I love that we can watch the music we’ve made now and still kind of feel the elements of the past, but it’s completely different. It’s completely surprising for us too, how we sound together.

“One of the things that’s so great about Brad,” she continued, “is that he has a memory like a steel trap. Like, he can tell you exactly what plug-in we have. used on Guyville or Whip-Smart or whatever stuff we worked on together, so we kind of took the approach of, “Let’s use the Guyville alphabet, but rewrite it in a language. totally different. “I really wanted us to feel on a surprising basis, so we were looking and pushing towards the new for ourselves. But we used a lot of the sounds from our previous incarnation, if you will.

Check out the New York themed cover art and tracklist for Soberish after the jump. To support the album, the “Why Can’t I?” The singer will join Alanis Morrissette as the opening act of her recently rescheduled 25th anniversary Jagged Little Pill tour. (The show series will now begin August 12 at the Germania Insurance Amphitheater in Austin, TX.) Phair will also be heading to Milwaukee in September as part of the Summerfest lineup.

Sober work:

Sober tracklist:
01. Spanish doors
02. The game
03. Hi Lou
04. In there
05. Good side
06. Sheridan Road
07. Ba Ba Ba
08. sober
09. Soul Sucker
10. Lonely street
11. Dosage
12. Bad kitten
13. Rain scene

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *