Lingua Ignota Announces New Sinner Get Ready Album, Unveils “Pennsylvania Furnace” Video: Stream

Lingua Ignota, aka Kristen Hayter, has announced their new album Sinner Get Ready, which will arrive on August 6 on new house label Sargent House. She also shared the self-toured video for the single “Pennsylvania Furnace”.

In a change from his epic 2019 album Caligula, Hayter abandons his industrial leanings for a haunting rendition of Appalachian folk and gospel music on Sinner Get Ready. The new direction was inspired by the God-fearing Christianity inherent in rural Pennsylvania where Hayter was located when she conceptualized the record.

“Pennsylvania Furnace” evokes the legend of an 18th century blacksmith whose “dogs return to drag him to hell after he threw them all into his furnace with rage.” The song sounds very different from his previous production, but Hayter’s individualistic interpretation of the traditional song structure and his classically trained vocal and instrumental skills are arguably even more emphasized.

Hayter recorded Sinner Get Ready with senior collaborator, producer and engineer Seth Manchester at Machines With Magnets in Rhode Island. Multi-instrumentalist and composer Ryan Seaton provided additional arrangements and performances, and J. Mamana added the banjo.

With the new album, Lingua Ignota joins other dark songwriters such as Chelsea Wolfe and Emma Ruth Rundle on Sargent House’s impressive roster.

You can pre-order Sinner Get Ready in vinyl variants through Sargent House and digitally through Amazon. Watch the video for “Pennsylvania Furnace” and check out the album art and tracklist below.

Sinner Get Ready Illustration:

Sinner Get Ready Song List:
01. The Order of Spiritual Virgins
02. I who bend the tall grass
03. Lots of hands
04. Pennsylvania Furnace
05. Repent now Confess now
06. The Sacred Liniment of Judgment
07. Perpetual Flame of Centralia
08. Man is like a spring flower
09. Ephrata’s lonely brothers

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *